EU markets news – Post date: December 15th, 2020.

Germany: Non-essential shops to close

In response to the second wave of the Covid-19 pandemic, new measures coming into force from 16 December to 10 January will close all shops except food shops, pharmacies, petrol stations, banks, post offices and newsagents (RFI, 13 December). Financial compensation is planned: €11 billion over 1 month. This measure will be relaxed from 24 to 26 December, but public gatherings for New Year’s Eve are prohibited.

France: Limited deconfinement and curfew

From 15 December the French authorities will begin a gradual deconfinement by abolishing travel documents, allowing travel to other regions. However, a curfew will be enforced every day, including 31 December, from 8pm to 6am (RFI, 10 December). Museums, cinemas and theatres will not reopen until 7 January 2021. There are still 14,000 Covid-19 cases recorded per day.

Portugal: restrictions eased for Christmas and New Year

At the beginning of December it was announced that the current health restrictions will still be in force, with a respite for the festive season (RFI, 5 December). Portugal has imposed partial reconfinement since the end of October. In the regions most affected by the pandemic, a night curfew has been introduced from 11pm to 5am and from 1pm at weekends, but schools and shops have not closed. Travel throughout the country will be allowed at Christmas and curfew times relaxed, but then travel throughout the country will again be banned and public gatherings will be limited.

Italy: Strict measures maintained for festive season

The curfew from 10pm to 5am will be maintained until 7 January and extended for 2 hours on New Year’s Eve (RFI, 4 December). From 21 December to 6 January, travel between regions will be prohibited; travel between communes will also be prohibited on 25 and 26 December and 1 January. Ski resorts will not reopen before 7 January, hotels will be open but no parties will be organised. Shops will be open until 21:00 between 4 December and 6 January, except on public holidays.

Translate »